General synod

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England, commonly referred to as the Church’s Parliament. It considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, authorises new forms of worship, debates matters of religious and public interest, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level.

It came into being in 1970 under the Synodical Government Measure 1969, replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly. 

Further information can be found at:

Elected Diocesan Members of General Synod:

The Rt Revd Martin Seeley, our Diocesan Bishop, is a member of General Synod sitting in the House of Bishops.

House of Clergy

  • The Revd Canon Jonathan Alderton-Ford
  • The Revd Tiffer Robinson
  • The Revd Canon Andrew Dotchin

House of Laity

  • Canon Tony Allwood
  • Mrs Karen Galloway
  • Mr David Lamming


General Synod report July 2020 | PDF

General Synod report November 2020 | PDF

General Synod report February 2021 | PDF

General Synod Report April 2021 | PDF


General Synod Elections 2021

Are you considering election to the General Synod for the next five-year term 2021-2026?  All the information you need is here:

General Synod Elections 2021 | The Church of England | weblink


Follow the General synod live on Twitter here.

Page last updated: 14th June 2021 4:23 PM