Diocesan elections


There are many ways in which you can support the mission and ministry of the church across our 445 parishes and one of them is to help us to exercise sound governance.  We are encouraging a wide and diverse cross section of our members to become involved.  If you feel called to work collaboratively, assisting in openness of communication and ensuring clarity of decision making, then please do come forward to offer your time and talents. 

Diocesan Board of Education (DBE) election

The DBE is looking to elect new Board members.  If you have relevant knowledge, skills or experience in education, please stand for election. The new DBE Measure has meant that anyone elected to this Board will be for two years only (as opposed to the normal three years), starting from 1 January 2023.  This is so that by the next election, it will fall in line with the other triennial synodical elections. The other change following the new DBE Measure means that both clergy and lay can be nominated/elected and there is no specific allocations of each house, or allocation per archdeaconry. 

Electors will be members of the Diocesan Synod.

Nomination form | DOCX

The deadline for forms to be sent to the diocesan office is midday Monday 10 October.

Election results

Here are the results of the recent autumn 2022 elections:

Bishop's Council 

(x1 lay vacancy)

Elected: Penny Bird

Diocesan Board of Patronage 

(x3 lay vacancies)

No nominations therefore these vacancies remain.

Vacancy in See Committee

(x1 clergy and x5 lay vacancies)

Clergy: Revd Al Metcalfe

Laity: Mary Hare, Callum Harris, Chloe Mayes, Gavin Stone, David Walters

To view the Single Transferable Vote results for the Vacancy in See Committee, please click below.

Clergy | PDF

Laity | PDF.

For any further queries 

Please contact Lorna Todd in the first instance or tel: 07485 348888.


Page last updated: Thursday 29th September 2022 10:46 AM
Powered by Church Edit