

BC(16)P111

Deanery Synod Representatives

The period of office for lay members of the Deanery Synods is for three years commencing on 1 June following their election. The current synod term of office ends on 31 May 2017 and therefore elections will have to be held by parishes at their 2017 APCMs in March/April 2017 enabling members to take office on 1 June 2017.

The relevant rules in the Church Representation Rules provide for:

- 1. Rule 25(2) The numbers to be so elected from the several parishes shall be determined by resolution of the diocesan synod not later than the 31 December in the year preceding any such elections, and those numbers shall be related to the numbers of the names on the rolls of the parishes or the number of parish churches or districts in each parish or a combination of both such methods, in each case as the diocesan synod shall determine provided that such resolution shall not make it possible for a parish with fewer than twenty-six names on the roll to have more than one representative
- 2. Rule 25 (3) Not later than the 31 December in the year preceding any such elections, the secretary of the diocesan synod shall certify to the secretary of each parochial church council the number of such representatives to be elected at the annual meeting of the parish and shall send to the secretary of each deanery synod copies of the certificates and information relating to the parishes of the deanery
- 3. Rule 25 (6) The diocesan synod shall exercise their power so as to ensure that the total number of members of any deanery synod in the diocese shall not be more than 150 and, so far as practicable, shall not be less than 50

Electoral Roll numbers as at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting in 2016 have been used. Where the figures have not been provided this year the most recent figure provided has been used.

The existing formula adopted by diocesan synod in November 2010 and again in November 2013 is as follows:

Number on Electoral Roll	No of Lay Representatives
1 – 25	1
26 – 100	2
101 – 200	3
201 – 300	4
301 – 400	5
401 – 500	6

Based on this formula and using the current parochial electoral roll numbers the following summary of lay members of each deanery is determined:

Deanery	Total Number of Representatives
Bosmere	32
Clare	37
Colneys	35
Hadleigh	42
Hartismere	28
Hoxne	33
Ipswich	50
Ixworth	40
Lavenham	50
Loes	51
Mildenhall	35
Samford	33
Saxmundham	43
Stowmarket	34
Sudbury	39
Thingoe	37
Waveney and Blyth	73
Woodbridge	63

Synod will be asked to pass the following resolution:

That the existing formula for the calculation of numbers of parochial representatives of the laity to be elected to deanery synods, as first adopted by diocesan synod in November 2010, namely:

Number on Electoral Roll	No of Lay Representatives
1 – 25	1
26 – 100	2
101 – 200	3
201 – 300	4
301 – 400	5
401 – 500	6

shall continue to apply until a resolution to the contrary.